Island thinking | AEOLIAN DAI WEEK 7
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-1194,single-format-standard,stockholm-core-2.3.3,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-9.4,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_menu_,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.9.0,vc_responsive

Island thinking | AEOLIAN DAI WEEK 7

Within the context of the island of Salina, Aeolia Archipelago Niccolò Masini & amaneï hosted the Dutch Art Institute (DAI) and the de Appel Curatorial Training Program 2023.

The Aeolian DAI week took place from 11 to 23 May 2023 between Santa Marina Salina, Lingua, and Malfa. With the support of Santa Marina Salina and Malfa Municipalities.

The Dutch Art Institute (DAI) is an itinerant Master’s program at the intersection of theory with art, activism, performance, and curation. Without a permanent home, students and tutors congregate seven times per year at different places throughout Europe (and beyond) to engage in collaborative study: making and thinking. In addition to bringing around 80 students and tutors, DAI has also invited the five participants of the de Appel Curatorial Program to join on this journey: Eugene Hannah Park, Billy Fowo, Jean-Michel Mabruki Mussa, Marina Christodoulidou and Meghana Karnik.

The selection for Island Thinking / L’isola che pensa Film Festival was made by five of DAI’s core tutors, united under the umbrella of the How To Do Things With Theory module, with Dr. Florian Göttke as Education Leader: Dr. Amit S. Rai, Dr. Ana Teixeira Pinto, Dr. Ghalya Saadawi, Dr. Grant Watson and Dr. Hypatia Vourloumis. They carefully brought together voices and visions from Great Britain, Jamaica, Martinique, Cuba, and beyond that, speak of islands real and imaginary. 

The Island Thinking / L’Isola che pensa Film Festival is a joint production of DAI in close collaboration with amaneï, the Comune di Santa Marina Salina, and De Appel Amsterdam. It will occur on the 13th, 14th, and 15th of May, 2023.

Moreover, the program in Salina included DAI tutors: You Mi & Yin Aiwen, Chiara Figone & Zasha Colah, Sagal Farah & de Appel CP participants (already introduced above), Leon Filter & Leire Vergara, Svitlana Lavrenchuk & Nico Alexandroff, Snejanka Mihaylova & Marilú Mapengo Namoda (remotely), and Nikos Doulos.